It’s modelling time again…

Its gotten to that time of year when it starts to get colder and the nights draw in that I think I really ought to dig out the modelling bits and bobs and do some things. It might also have something to do with the layout having another appearance at the Tonbridge MRC exhibition in February next year! Anyway…

Things have been quiet on here, but I’ve been far from quiet recently, so lets have a little catch up.

Following the last post I did some more work on the waves on the pier board. I let the paint shown previously dry completely and sparingly dry brushed some white gesso on to give the froth some colour.

I’m really pleased with the result. Since then I’ve also been experimenting with giving a shiny finish using artist’s acrylic gel, but I’m not too happy with the results as it’s not retained shape whilst drying. So, I’m going to revert back to the Woodland Scenics products I used on Dunbracken to go over the top of the painted plaster for the glossy finish. More soon.

Once the waves were done this board was packed off to the 009 Society 40th Anniversary Convention where I was giving a ‘clinic’ on realistic scenery on two of the days. This wasn’t something i’ve done before, but people seemed to find it interesting, and it wasn’t too nerve racking come the day.

Needless to say, the highlight of the weekend for me was to see P.D. Hancock’s ‘Dundreich’ in the flesh thanks to Edinburgh & Lothains MRC and Malcolm McLeod. It’s great that a portion of this layout has survived, and can be operated. This was it’s first and only exhibition outing so far.

The whole weekend had a real sense of fun, a relaxed atmosphere and there was so much to see! If you didn’t come, you missed the best exhibition I’ve ever been to…

I’ve uploaded some photos here, but Mick Thornton has a very comprehensive report on his blog.

A couple of weekends later I was off to RAMMA at Sedan in France. I’d been asked to go and help some friends operate their layout as part of Euro MoMinG. It was great to see how a French exhibition works, having only been to the Netherlands before, and to try and inflict my awful French on the unsuspecting public…

Photos here, but the highlight for me was a Dutch ON30 layout, somewhat reminiscent of Troels Kirk’s Coastline R.R. but a lot smaller!

‘Real life’ has been somewhat busy recently, but thankful that’s calming down now too, so I should be able to find time to do some modelling again.

I’ve got two things on the go aside from the scenery on the layout, I’ve ordered an etched brass loco body from Worsley Works (more on this soon), and a kit to solve my paddle steamer quandary.

I think I’m now on version 3 of the paddle steamer, the first having been  failed plasticard clad foamboard hull and the second a pure plasticard one which has begun warping recently.

After these abortive attempts I’ve decided to go for the easy option and just buy a kit I can adapt relatively easily. The Zvezda kit for the PS Sirius fits the space perfectly, and despite being 1:100 scale it seems like a good option as it fits the space I have perfectly. After a bit of searching I managed to pick one up on eBay at a relatively good price. There’s a nice amount of kit bashing and scratch building to do to get it to look like the PS Glencoe. I’ll hopefully be making a start soon.

Normal service will be resumed…

This entry was posted in Exhibitions, Layout, Scenery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s modelling time again…

  1. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    IT’S MY MODELING TIME NOW!

Leave a Reply

