On Skye!

Or…

‘Welcome to Isle Ornsay’

This week I’m on Skye, we’re having a family holiday but I’ve managed to fit in a few brief moments of ‘railway time’, including taking the photos for the backscene for the layout. I was hoping to take some photos from the actual location that I’m modelling, but sadly that would mean standing in a rather deep area of the sea! Its just not possible to get the right angle from anywhere on land. So I’ve compromised, I’ve taken images from immediately next to the site of the station in the actual village of Isle Ornsay. More on photographic backscenes soon.

I’ve also spent an hour here and there exploring some of the railway sites on the island. First the Ord Quarry Railway, and then the far end of the Skye Marble Railway – which I’m off to walk the length of tomorrow between Kilchrist and Broadford.

Ord Quarry Railway remnants

See this page for more details on the Ord Quarry Railway, I’ll do the same for the marble line in the near future.

During our travels around the island I’ve seen many sites where the Hebridean Light Railway would have run – it’s the first time that I’ve been back since having a look at the documents in the National Archives. I feel that I’m going to have to do a little more homework before I come next time so that I can fully explore the route and see exactly what it would have looked like.  I’ve had a few thoughts about the line and the way to represent it with the layout during the week – I’ll outline these when I’m home and I’ve had more time to digest.

I’ve just realised that I’ve neglected to post the photos from my recent trip to Wales to play trains for a week – I’ll do so in due course.

This entry was posted in Layout, Scenery, Scottish Narrow Gauge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Skye!

  1. Guido says:

    Failte, Tom. I hope you’ll have an enjoyable trip through Skye, and look forward to your images of your trip.

    • Tom says:

      Hi Guido, very enjoyable thank you! I’ve just gotten back to our cottage after walking the Skye Marble line. I’ll post photos in a few days time.

  2. Jamie Wood says:

    Wish I was there. Went up as a kid, mid 90s and would love to go back.

    Enjoy yourself, and soak up the atmosphere and character to recreate in miniature. 🙂

    • Tom says:

      Hey Jamie,

      I’ve really enjoyed it, we’ve almost come to the end of our stay, but it’s been great and we’ll hopefully be back soon.

      I used to come to Skye every year when I was growing up as a family friend had a croft at Torrin. It’s nice to capture an area I’ve known all my life in model form. I’ve got a few ideas on how to improve things and a list of things I need to check the next time I come back. Plenty to be getting on with for now though!

Leave a Reply

