A home at last!

Well, after 7 hours worth of cleaning and 2 trips to the tip getting rid of old cardboard boxes, I’ve now got a cleared loft.  Over the last few days this has been transformed into a railway room! I’m lucky in that the room already has walls and is carpeted, so all the hard work is done.

All my modelling materials and books have been moved up there.  It’s a comfortable environment to work in, and provides a good space to put the whole layout up.  All the boards have been test fitted through the loft hatch and in the back of my Golf.  I was expecting the layout to require van hire from day 1 to get to exhibition, so to see that I can fit it in the car is great!

As much of the layout I could fit in the image, short of climbing out of the velux window and onto the roof!

Full sized plan of the yard board. Click on the image to go to an annotated version on my Flickr account.

Full sized plan of the quay board. Click on the image to go to an annotated version on my Flickr account.

Full sized plan of the town board. Click on the image to see an annotated version on my flickr account.

Full sized plan of the station board. Click on the image to see an annotated version on my flickr account.

After a visit to ExpoNG this weekend I’ll hopefully be going to B&Q to pick out some plywood to begin baseboard construction.  A week or so to mull ideas over before starting will help me work out any bugs with the plan in my mind before starting.

This entry was posted in Layout. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A home at last!

  1. Neil King says:

    Just one small point but wouldn’t the pier have had a hammerhead a la Stromeferry for the ship to sit alongside more comfortably? And remind me where you got the puffer model from again – or did you make it yourself? NK

    • Tom says:

      Quite possibly, Neil. But it’s a question of space available and operation of the layout which will dictate if I can do that or not. I’ll certainly look at it as it would look rather nice.

      The puffer kit came from Deans Marine:
      http://www.deansmarine.co.uk/shop/product_info.php/cPath/10_11/products_id/182

      That’s the vacuum formed version, they also do a more robust hull which could be made into a radio controlled model.

      I’ve modified the cab as the kit as supplied is for an open topped version, I built the rest out of plasticard strip. The rear deck as supplied is a sheet of paper with printed planking strips on, i decided to replace this with some thin plasticard strip to give it some texture as opposed to being totally flat. Other than these modifications the rest of it is standard.

      T.

Leave a Reply

